Lancaster DUI Attorney
Defending Those Facing DUI Charges in Palmdale, Quartz Hill, & Surrounding Areas
While DUI charges are among the most common cases heard in Los Angeles County, California courts, they can result in serious criminal penalties.
While you may feel hopeless about your future, you have options.
Many aspects of your charges can be criticized by a skilled DUI Lawyer who knows the California law, the procedures, and how to uncover legal and technical mistakes and weaknesses on the part of law enforcement through proper investigation.
At Law Office of Jesse P. Duran, the DUI lawyer located in Los Angeles County, can fight for you.
Is It Worth Getting a DUI Lawyer in California?
Yes, It is worth getting a skilled DUI lawyer that really can help clear your charges, resolve your case. and win in court. If you determine a reasonable DUI attorney, you should get a strong defense, prevent a license suspension and criminal charges.
Suppose you or one of your loved ones was under arrest for drunk driving; in that case, it’s critically important that an aggressive and knowledgeable DUI lawyer represents you.
Sentences for a DUI charge in LA County
The sentences for a DUI charge in Los Angeles County are complicated.
They may include prison time, expensive fines, long-term driving license suspension, required driving safety classes, and other negative consequences. In addition, if your employment involves driving or operating heavy machinery, you could lose the career you’ve worked hard to create.
Can DUI Lawyers Help Get Traffic Tickets Dismiss?
If you choose to fight your ticket in court, you should hire a traffic attorney that can help.
A DUI lawyer knows the law inside and out.
Having legal representation can help get a lower fine or even have it dismissed completely.
Have you been charged with DUI? Get started on your DUI case as soon as possible by calling our DUI attorney in Lancaster, California at (661) 903-8056 or contact us online. Se habla español.
Why Hire The Law Office of Jesse P. Duran
DUI attorney Jesse P. Duran is well-respected among local judges, prosecutors, and court staff.
Our criminal defense law firm in LA, California has been a stable presence in the Lancaster area since 2007, providing thorough and effective defense representation in DUI and other charges.
If you face a charge with DUI in the LA area, you need a defense attorney intimately familiar with DUI cases.
Our attorney is highly focused on defending DUI issues and has dedicated his professional career to helping clients bring their lives back after being charged with a DUI.
Our law office achieves superb results for our clients because we take every DUI matter seriously.
We understand that both your fate and reputation are on the line, so you can trust that our counselor will take the time to thoroughly investigate every detail of your report and seek every possible opportunity of defense.
California DUI Laws and Penalties
Los Angeles has some of the toughest DUI laws and penalties in the country.
Like all states, if your blood alcohol concentration (BAC) measures .08 percent or higher as an adult, you can be charged with DUI in California.
The legal BAC limit for commercial drivers operating a commercial vehicle is .04 percent, while the legal limit for those under 21 is .02 percent.
If your BAC measures .16 percent or higher in California, it is considered an aggravated DUI which carries enhanced penalties.
The law in California also states that it is unlawful for anyone to drive while under the influence of alcohol and/or drugs with no mention of BAC levels.
Is a First-Offense DUI in California a Misdemeanor?
A first-offense DUI in Lancaster is charged as a misdemeanor carrying the following criminal and collateral penalties:
- 3 -5 years of probation
- Jail time of 48 hours up to a year
- Fines ranging from $1,800 up to $2,000
- Mandatory attendance at DUI school
- DMV license suspension of 6 months
- Increased auto insurance premiums
You must request an administrative hearing with the DMV within 10 days of your arrest to challenge the automatic license suspension.
If you prevail at the hearing, you may be granted a restricted license with the installment of an ignition interlock device in your vehicle.
How Likely is Jail Time for Your First DUI?
The court in Lancaster, California will usually sentence the offender to informal (unsupervised) probation in lieu of a jail sentence.
On most first offender DUI convictions, the probation term is three years. But they can be punished by up to six months in county jail.
You may also have to serve a program for three months that includes education, group counseling, and individual interview sessions if BAC was under 0.20%. An offender whose BAC was 0.20% or more, or a first offender with less than 0.20% but who refused to take a chemical test, must participate a minimum of nine months in a program.
The County court has discretion when it comes to this component of a DUI sentence.
Subsequent DUI Charges
Second, third, and subsequent convictions will result in harsher penalties.
Penalties are also increased if your DUI results in the injury or death of another. Bodily injury DUIs may be charged as a misdemeanor or felony depending on the facts of the case.
However, DUI fatalities are charged as felonies in Lancaster, California.
As a collateral penalty, a DUI conviction will also give you a permanent criminal record which can create future problems securing employment, housing, professional licenses, and more.
Contact Our DUI Lawyer Today
An experienced DUI defense attorney in Lancaster can make all the difference in how your case develops and in its final outcome.
Don’t trust your future and freedom to an inexperienced, untested, or cheap lawyer.
Our firm has years of achieving proven favorable results. Whether through plea bargaining or presenting a strong defense at trial, Jesse offers tireless and tested legal representation.
Reach out to the Law Office of Jesse P. Duran today at (661) 903-8056 for defense from our Lancaster DUI attorney near Palmdale.